Luxembourg facts and figures


Founded in 963, Luxembourg became a grand duchy in 1815 and an independent state under the Netherlands. It lost more than half of its territory to Belgium in 1839, but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Full independence was attained in 1867. Overrun by Germany in both World Wars, it ended its neutrality in 1948 when it entered into the Benelux Customs Union and when it joined NATO the following year. In 1957, Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European Economic Community (later the European Union) and in 1999 it joined the euro currency area.


Western Europe, between France and Germany


total: 2,586 sq km

water: 0 sq km

land: 2,586 sq km

Land boundaries:

total: 359 km

border countries: Belgium 148 km, France 73 km, Germany 138 km


modified continental with mild winters, cool summers


mostly gently rolling uplands with broad, shallow valleys; uplands to slightly
mountainous in the north; steep slope down to Moselle flood plain in the

Land use:

arable land: 25%

other: 75% (includes Belgium) (1998 est.)

permanent crops: 0%


454,157 (July 2003 est.)


noun: Luxembourger(s)

adjective: Luxembourg


Luxembourgish (national language), German (administrative language), French
(administrative language)